Ashland High Arts Advocates

AHAA supports the Arts

State Results from 2015 Oregon Thespian Festival

Ashland HS Theatre actors and technicians won 26 awards at the Oregon State Thespian Festival in Salem, Oregon April 8-11 at the Historic Elsinore Theatre and the Grand Hotel of Salem. 30 AHS students joined the other 1400 Oregon Thespians to see main stage shows and one acts. They also participated in their choice of 40 workshops in acting, voice, dance, stage combat, lighting, sound, and stage management. Our technicians even competed in Tech Olympics!

5 Technical Event Awards:

In these specialty events, 40—80 hours of preparation are involved. The student must present a designated portfolio with pages of illustrations with justifications based on the play. They then do a 15-minute presentation followed by questions from the state adjudicators.

1st Place Stage Management: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying

Lily Rider

Ist Place Makeup Design for Wizard of Oz

Caelin Caldwell

2nd Place Makeup Design for Alice in Wonderland

Isabeau Kennedy

2nd Place Costume Design for Cabaret

Ceili Widmann

3rd Place Makeup Design for Cabaret

Ceili Widmann


AHS win 20 State Acting Competition Awards in 3 Events:

These students were chosen to perform their pieces at state in the final showcase for 1400 thespians.

1st Place Group Musical: Finale performance of the festival. 16 Blue Ribbons presented.

Caitlin Campbell (Competition Choreographer*);Jackson Richmond (Co-Director); Jonathan Connolly(Co-Director); Liam Atkins; Tristan Giannini; David Lee; Preston Mead; Katie Cook; Julia Laurensen; Zoe Lishinsky; Alex Welden; Emma Durbin; Juliet Nienhaus; Cadaxa Chapman Bell; Kyle Storie and Michael Burt.

“Brotherhood of Man” from How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying

*These students rehearsed 40 hours since January (with a final one on the night before in the parking lot of Phoenix Inn in Salem) in this reimagined rendition of the number from the AHS November musical directed by Jeremy Johnson with the original choreography of Royer Bochus.

1st Place Group Acting

Tessa Buckley, Abby Mizera, Christine Impara

“Cotton Girls” one-act by Scott Tobin


Showcase Finalist

Jon Connolly

Showcase Finalist in Solo Acting Experienced

Romeo and Juliet / The Diviners

Troupe Awards

*2015 Honor Troupe Award to AHS Troupe #4630. Our troupe officers, Jackson Richmond, Abby Mizera, Jon Connolly and Christine Impara gave a great 15-minute presentation with their power point and our portfolio; this was followed by a question and answer period by a panel of national and state adjudicators. .

*Recognition Plaque for AHS Hosting State Leadership Summit- AHS families hosted 40 state thespian troupe leaders in their homes during two-day event in September.

*Michael Hibbard Memorial Award to troupe sponsor,Betsy Bishop. This new this new award honors an individual who builds and sustains a sense of community through educational theatre.

Special thanks to Candice Chapman and Doug Ham, our chaperones, and Rick Berg, our bus driver for all of their help!

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.